Gluten Free Lifestyle

Gluten Free Lifestyle

With 15 to 25% of consumers indicating they want gluten-free foods and many new people diagnosed with celiac disease, gluten-free cooking is on the rise.

Gluten-free doesn’t mean your cooking has to be flavor-free. Gourmet Garden fresh herb and spice varieties are gluten free and are the perfect way to spice up your cooking.

In order to maintain a gluten-free lifestyle, below are some tips and facts about gluten-free living or click here for some delicious Gluten Free Recipes.

 
  • Alcohol

    Gluten cannot survive the process of distillation, which means most spirits are safe! SAFE spirits include: Gin, Vodka, Whiskey etc The sulfite in wine can sometimes cause people to have a reaction, which is often thought to be gluten related, however; most wine in general is safe. Avoid > beer, ale & lager

  • Cereals

    Avoid > cereals that include wheat, rye, oats, spelt, kamut, those containing malt syrup or malt flavoring. Safe > amaranth, buckwheat, flax, millet, rice, quinoa, sorghum, soy and teff.

  • Condiments

    Avoid > soy sauce. Check Labels of > ketchup, mustard, mayonnaise and dried mustard powders (some contain wheat flour). Safe > Tamari and Coconut Derivative Soy Sauce which are both soy sauce substitutes.

  • Dairy

    Avoid > dairy substitutes that contain barley malt, grains or oats.

  • Foods to Avoid

    Biscuits, breads, crackers, croutons, crumbs, doughnuts, tortillas, or wafers. Unless Labelled Gluten Free.

  • Oats

    There is debate as to whether oats contain gluten or not, as sometimes commercial oats are grown in close proximity to wheat and therefore may become contaminated. Safe > gluten free oats.

  • Pasta

    Safe > pastas include those made from brown rice, quinoa or 100% buckwheat. Also safe are oriental rice noodles or bean threads.

  • Superfood Quinoa

    Quinoa, pronounced 'KEE - NO - WAH', is a rich source of protein and also contains essential vitamins and minerals as well as being 100% gluten free. Quinoa is related to spinach and beets and has features of a grain, although it is actually a seed. There are two common types of Quinoa: the Traditional and the Inca Red. It is easy to incorporate Quinoa into your diet as it can be added to a range of different meals to create texture and nutritional value.

  • Thickeners (substitute for wheat flour)

    Safe > cornstarch, arrowroot, agar, gelatin or bean (chickpea flour), rice flour (brown or white), potato starch & tapioca flour.

  • Vinegar

    Safe > those made from wine, rice or cider.

  • Vinegar

    Safe > those made from wine, rice or cider.